Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Am I missing anything?

Discussion in 'Web Design Forum' started by LitFL Website Designer, Apr 28, 2010.

1. Hey guys just thought I'd get your opinions on this, I am new to the web development game although have been studying and working with websites for a couple of years now.

I was just wondering if anyone had any tips for me, here is my site

LitFL Website Designer

I'd just like to know if I am missing anything in my design or if there are key elements that I have left out?

Also any tips to improve on what I already have would be much appreciated.

Tom

2. Victorious

Victorious New Member

3. What benefit is there to having a W3C validated site? I haven't really payed much attention to this tool before.

Is it to test that your site will work on all browser versions?

There are a few that I can't seem to fix anyway due to the code being generated through the wordpress system.

4. pixeldevils

pixeldevils New Member

If your site isn't to W3C standards, it means a number of things for clients and potential employers:

- You site may not work on all platforms and browsers
    - You don't have the necessary coding skills to make it validate
    - Your site isn't semantic and lacks interoperability
    - You don't understand why the above is important!
    - You may not have considered the WCAG guidelines

I suggest you read around this subject, you will get found out if you don't!

Regarding the design, it looks like a template to me, and lacks originality and creativity.

Here's my freelance site:
    Welcome to Pixel Devils

and here's a far better one than mine:
    Professional Web Design by Orman Clark | Web Design in Berkshire

Sorry to sound a bit harsh, but if you want to compete then you need to really learn some marketable coding, design, accessibility and usability skills.

I'm not seeing much of these from your site as it stands.