Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Amateur Designer

Discussion in 'Graphic Design Forum' started by Faizan, May 13, 2007.

1. Faizan

Faizan New Member

Hi

I am an amateur graphics and web designer, currently working as a freelancer and taking a Graphic Designs (BTEC Level 3) National Diploma at college.

I am 18, experienced in Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver and QuarkXpress but I have not worked for any companies, so when companies ask for experience, I don't have any!

Here are some of the sites that I have designed:
    Bollywood Spice
    AbhishekBachchan.org
    Celebrity-Express.com
    KanganaRanaut.com
    Rani-Mukerji.com
    Preity-Forever.com: Image Gallery
    Priyanka Chopra Photos Gallery
    Sarwat Minhas: Aritst Portfolio
    and my site: FQ Designs

I have also designed free leaflets for some restaurants etc, like the one shown below:

Front | Back (large files: 1.5mb each; designed in Illustrator)

I am wondering how much to charge for leaflets like the one shown above, and websites. I currently only charge around £50 for quite a large website like kanganaranaut.com.

Last edited: May 13, 2007
  2. workinprogress

workinprogress New Member

Hi

Whoa slow down, £50 for a website? You need to be charging much more, looking at your work It would appear that your quite talented. I charge per hour and give a rough estimate of how long it will take. My fee is £17.00 per hour but your work looks technically more sound than mine so would charge more. Again the same with the leaflets charge by the hour and in the future you will be able to estimate it better and do a set price - this means that if you finish it quicker you make more money per hour and can take on multiple jobs.

You do have exprience - eight websites is quite a bit of experience! Who cares who you have worked for its your portfolio that counts!

3. Faizan

Faizan New Member

Oh wow thanks!!!