Forum

Contract Advice

MartinUK2

MartinUK2

Messages count : 1
Likes count : 0
Contact in PM
Hi, I'm an animator and I've been given a new contract, and wondered if anyone who's more legally minded would mind checking it out for me.

There are a couple of points I'm unsure about. First, I have done 5 jobs for this company without a contract. Does this contract apply to those jobs, or only jobs I complete going forwards?
Second, it says they are under no obligation to credit me with authorship. This is a deal breaker for me, as the jobs are very low paid, and the only reason to do them is if I can use them to promote myself.

Here's the contract:

Terms and Conditions: Creating content with ### THIS AGREEMENT is made on 19/04/2017

BETWEEN:
(1) ### (“Publisher”); and
(2) ### (the “Filmmaker”).

Term Sheet:

1. Rights and Ownership
This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of England and Wales and the parties hereby submit to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
a) The parties agree that the commissioned Work done by the Filmmaker pursuant to this Agreement shall be deemed "work for hire" under Copyright laws of England and Wales and the Publisher shall own the Work and shall be the full and exclusive owner of all rights and title in and to the proceeds of the services commissioned herein at all stages of development, including any ideas, discoveries, designs or products developed.
b) If for any reason the Work or part thereof is not deemed a work for hire, then the Filmmaker hereby irrevocably transfers and assigns to the Publisher in perpetuity, all rights, title and interest therein including all copyrights and any other applicable intellectual property rights.
c) The Filmmaker shall not do anything or cause anything to be done to limit or infringe the Publisher’s rights under this Agreement and undertakes to execute any document required by the Filmmaker to secure the Publisher’s rights in the Work.