Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Routes in to the industry

Discussion in 'Copywriting Forum' started by Jim, May 30, 2007.

1. Jim

Jim New Member

I have just read that there are many routes in to the industry yet the article does not mention even one.
    Anybody there with any ideas on how to get started in freelance copywriting?

2. keggs

keggs New Member

routes

Hi Jim

Just joined. One way which I've used to get into copywriting is to contact small businesses and ask them if they need any leaflets producing. I charge around £40. If you can design the leaflet as well that's an added bonus.

Hope this helps

Steve

3. mikehadley

mikehadley New Member

routes in?

Is that £40 an hour? Don't sell your skills short.

4. ali g

ali g New Member

Copywriting fees

You mention about charging £40 an hour - is that a standard rate? I am quite new to copywriting and am working for one client at a fixed fee. If I were to charge by the hour I wouldn't have a clue what to charge and I wouldn't want to price myself out of a potential job! Any advice?

5. angelalast

angelalast New Member

Going rate..

The going rate on the South Coast varies from £30-£40 an hour BUT do bare in mind that it all depends on the type of job and creative proposition.

Some charge a fixed rate per job and some charge a fixed price per page.

It all depends on how flexible you want to be and how badly you want the job.

Word of advice though - don't short-sell yourself as this will start a price war in the industry and it may influence the freelance market.

At the end of the day we all want to make an honest living out of copywriting, so keep the rates fair and we will all be one happy community. :p

6. thecaz

thecaz New Member