Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Unpaid invoices when your client is in a director dispute...

Discussion in 'Accounting and Legal' started by Packatrix, Jan 3, 2019.

1. Packatrix

Packatrix New Member

Hi,

First time posting, but starting to feel from conversations with various advisors that my situation is pretty rare, but just in case there IS anybody here who's been through the same thing, I thought it was worth asking. Apologies in advance for the long read...

I work as a freelancer as a limited company where it's just me. Started around 7 months ago. An old colleague who has set up a small agency with a 50/50 business partner got in touch, and offered me some work based on my particular skill set - online video. We have email exchanges confirming the work and estimates, but no specific contract(s). I have completed 8 invoice-able jobs for them and their client. They have a contract with another agency, that has a large multinational as one of its clients, and it was this company that my work was ultimately for.

The first job that was discussed was a large project of around 3 months solid work. This was specced out in April 2018, for delivery by mid July. This project was begun shortly after after my former colleague's agency and their client(s) approved costs. There were no milestones set, and payment was on completion.

As this project was being worked on, the relationship between the two directors of the agency had begun to sour, and this situation continued to deteriorate over the next few months, mostly unbeknownst to me.

Other smaller projects came up while the large project was going through feedback and I took these on, and completed them one by one. I was paid on time for the first couple of jobs. However, the ultimate client for the larger job decided to delay the launch of the main 3 month project, and started to increase the scope gradually.