Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Who'd be interested in me?

Discussion in 'Journalism Forum' started by Butterfly Becky, Jan 10, 2007.

1. Butterfly Becky

Butterfly Becky New Member

Hello,
    I am just starting out and was wondering if anyone had some advice. I'm an ecologist, so think I have some pretty interesting and relevent things to write about. But now I'm thinking about who I can send my work to. Starting small sounds sensible, where can I get information about smaller scale publications that might be interested (or anyone who might be interested for that matter!)?
    Thanks,
    Becky

2. MickeyFinn

MickeyFinn Administrator

Hey Becky,

Lots of people will want you I am sure - it is just a case of how you present yourself ;)

Starting small is definitely the way to do, sending articles to the new scientist and nature are unlikely to reap rewards if you are an unknown.

First thing to do is write some articles! Once they are written use the search engines to find paper publications and sites that might publish them. Not necessarily ecology publications but other publications concerning the subject matter too - try and think laterally about who may be interested in reading the article. Also try sending the articles to blog owners as they love a bit of free content!

Think I missed a step - set up a simple website for yourself! A few details about you and your experience is all you need.

When sending out your articles initially state they could publish for free as long as you are credited for the article with a link back to your website and maybe a few lines about yourself at the end of the article.