Forum

Work Experience?

Mully79

Mully79

Messages count : 4
Likes count : 0
Contact in PM
Hello 🙂 Apologies in advance for a really long post! And sorry it's not freelance related but could do with some feedback.

I'm a graphic designer with 10 years' experience. I work 4 days a week flexitime, on average full time hours, and don't work on Friday (although it's the busiest day of my week at the moment!). I run my own fledgling business in my spare time but we're investing all we can into it at the moment and certainly not making money to live off.

Anyway - the last 5 years I've been PC based using CorelDraw as the main package, but am fully proficient in Photoshop and do use Illustrator and InDesign from time to time, not on the same level as Corel of course. This reflects the usage of the other staff who don't want the hassle of 'changing' to Adobe and wouldn't amend stuff I'd set in those programs, Corel is also the most up to date software. So I don't have a lot of experience in those. I did a Dreamweaver course a few years back, my Flash course was cancelled right before it began (low student numbers) and since then I've not found anywhere local for the right price (or on the right day) to do more courses to get software experience. Doesn't help that I'm PC based at home and can't afford a Mac or software. I find online tutorials no substitute for real experience although I do try. The work I do in the office is not greatly challenging and quick turnaround with not a lot of creativity asked for or needed (they just tend to want something basic for a few quid, don't like paying for design!).